Commission Members





Viergelie Valmont BERNARDDirector, FAMES-NUTECH Nursing School, Delmas, Haiti; trainer, Sivivan pou Sivivan; survivor of the Haiti earthquake (2010)


Diane GOLDSTEIN, Chair, Department of Folklore and Ethnomusicology, Indiana University; Adjunct Professor, Folklore Department and Division of Community Medicine, Memorial University of Newfoundland; Past President, The American Folklore Society


Lindsay GRAHAM, University of Houston; Commission Organizing Secretary and developer of the Commission website


Hiroyuki HASHIMOTO, Distinguished Professor, Institute for Creating Local Culture, Otemon Gakuin University; survivor of the Great East Japan Earthquake (2011)


Kate HORIGAN, Assistant Professor of Folk Studies, Western Kentucky University; survivor of Hurricane Katrina (2005)


Kako INOUE, Professor of Clinical Psychology, Yokohama National University


Pat JASPER, Founding Co-Director, Surviving Katrina and Rita in Houston; Director, Folklife and Traditional Arts program, Houston Arts Alliance


Etzer JEAN, Trainer, Sivivan pou Sivivan, Kenscoff, Haiti


Koji KATO, Professor of Ethnology, Tohoku Gakuin University, and Curator, Tohoku Gakuin University Museum; survivor of the Great East Japan Earthquake (2011)


Amadu KHAN, sociologist, journalist, asylum seeker, Sierra Leone and United Kingdom; survivor of the Sierra Leone Civil War (1991-2002)


Carl LINDAHL, Director, Survivor to Survivor Stories; Founding Co-director, Surviving Katrina and Rita in Houston; ethnographer and professor, University of Houston; Commission Organizer


Ludwidge LOUISAssistant Director, FAMES-NUTECH Nursing School, Delmas, Haiti; trainer, Sivivan pou Sivivan; survivor of the Haiti earthquake (2010)


Robyn LYN, Health Communication, University of Houston; survivor of Hurricane Ike (2008)


Licia MASONI, Researcher in English and Applied Linguistics, University of Bologna; Ph.D. in Ethnology, University of Edinburgh; survivor of the Italian earthquake of 2012


Elana NEWMAN, McFarlin Professor of Psychology, University of Tulsa; Past President, International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies; Research Director, Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma


Ashish SEN, Community Media Consultant and Immediate Past President and Board Member, AMARC, Asia-Pacific.


Amy SHUMAN, Ethnographer, Professor, and Director of Disability Studies, The Ohio State University


Yutaka SUGA, Ethnographer, professor, The University of Tokyo


Momo TURAY, Researcher, environmentalist, and a development practitioner with vast experience in programme management (research, monitoring and evaluation) and Not-for-profit organisations in Sierra Leone and West Africa and currently attached to a UK charity (Stand Up for Africa-SUFA) in charge of international partners and projects; survivor of the Sierra Leone Civil War (1991-2002)


Xiao Kui WANG, Professor of Ethnology, East China Normal University; survivor of the Great Tangshan Earthquake (1976)


Ziying YOU, disaster ethnographer and Ph.D. Candidate in Chinese Literature and Folklore, The Ohio State University